Antville Project

update

i've updated the need_for_speed-branch. it should be fully functional now and (hopefully significantly) faster compared to the main-branch of antville (quite a bunch of code was either removed or streamlined). please give it a try and tell me how it performs on your systems (and of course: please report any new - or newly introduced - bugs).

i think we're really close to the mysterious FC now ;-)

comment    

 
hns, November 19, 2002 at 10:57:27 AM CET

Cool!

Great to have all those commit mails in my CVS list box... ;-)

link  


... comment
 
hns, November 20, 2002 at 10:35:41 AM CET

ROCKS!

I just tested the new version for an hour or two, and I'm impressed. Async access logging is very cool. So is using StringBuffers for most internal construction work.

I don't think we could keep the increase story-readcount with each access policy here on antville.org, but it's the right thing to do for the default setup.

I'm still thinking we should use href macros instead of link macros for the default skins, though (not touching the link macro implementation). I think I can sense the difference here on my old iBook. Do you still have benchmarks for that around?

link  

 
robert, November 20, 2002 at 11:03:28 AM CET

Re: ROCKS!

ad story-readcount: i think we could also do this asynchronously (i think the maximum delay of 1 minute is absolutely ok). any ideas how to solve the concurrency problem?

ad href-macro: from what i remember the benchmarks i did on my machine at home didn't show up that much better performance, but that might also be because my machine is much faster than adele. i didn't remove your href_macro-code , so could you do a comparison on your ibook? would be interesting. if it shows much more performance we could either create a href-macro (which i fear would be confusing) or place html-a-tags inside the default templates (i.e. in the navigation-skins)

link  

 
hns, November 20, 2002 at 1:57:52 PM CET

Re: ROCKS!

I'll run the tests and tell you what I find.

link  


... comment


The Antville Server Fund has been a great success. Thanks to everybody who contributed!
online for 8330 Days
last updated: 1/4/11, 10:22 AM
status
Youre not logged in ... Login
menu
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
July
recent
zfuture's house here is zfuture's
house
by zfuture (7/31/03, 2:59 AM)
i understand your concerns however,
i hardly can think of a solution. certainly, if the...
by tobi (7/29/03, 9:47 AM)
Found several more similar sites
listed This is getting to be quite a concern to...
by cobalt123 (7/27/03, 7:56 PM)
Second Post Alert on Referrer
bug livecatz I put this into "help" and now here:...
by cobalt123 (7/26/03, 7:14 PM)
well it's not easy to
find from here, anyway. think we should include a link,...
by tobi (7/24/03, 11:25 AM)
So finally I found
the helma Bugzilla - stupid me.
by mdornseif (7/24/03, 10:28 AM)
clock not that it's particularly
earthshattering but the antclock is running slow by about 15...
by kohlehydrat (7/23/03, 8:25 PM)
but blogosphere.us isn't can't really
be rated as spam can it?
by kohlehydrat (7/23/03, 8:08 PM)
More referrer spam www.webfrost.com
by Irene (7/23/03, 7:55 PM)
How to log skin names
I accessed to console?? Hi, I would like to know...
by winson (7/23/03, 4:12 PM)

Click here to get an XML version of this weblog.

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher